IADR Executive

Professor Sašo Ivanovski


BDSc (Hons), BDentSt, MDSc, PhD, FICD, FADI

Sašo Ivanovski is Head of the School of Dentistry at the University of Queensland in Queensland, Australia and Professor of Periodontology. He combines this position with a part time specialist practice in periodontics and surgical implant dentistry.  Sašo has published over 180 papers in the peer-reviewed literature and leads an internationally recognized research group with an interest in regenerative dentistry, biomaterials and tissue engineering, as well as clinical periodontics and implant dentistry. Sašo has been an IADR member since the early 1990s. He established and was the inaugural councilor of the Gold Coast Section within IADR (ANZ) in 2014. He was the scientific chair of the IADR (Asia-Pacific Region) meeting in November 2019.


Professor Paul Cooper


BSc (Hons), PhD

Paul Cooper is Dean of the Faculty of Dentistry at the University of Otago in New Zealand. Paul was appointed the John Arnaud Bell Professor of Oral Biology in 2019 at the University of Otago and previously, he worked at the School of Dentistry, University of Birmingham, UK (2000-2019), where he was the Director of Research and Deputy Head of School. Paul has published over 180 full peer-reviewed papers in several areas of dental research with particular interest in pulp biology. In 2010, Paul was awarded the IADR Distinguished Scientist Young Investigator Award. He is currently the President of the Pulp Biology and Regeneration Group of IADR and has also served as the Mineralized Tissue Group (MINTIG) Chair for the British Society for Oral and Dental Research (BSODR) and as a counselor on the BSODR Management Committee.

Dr Samuel Bennett



Associate Professor May Lei Mei



Dr. Mei is currently an Associate Professor in Cariology in the Faculty of Dentistry at the University of Otago, New Zealand where she leads undergraduate teaching in both cariology and restorative dentistry. Dr Mei’s research focuses on cariology, in particular on the effect of silver diamine fluoride on mineralized tissue, collagen and biofilms, and on the development of novel bioactive materials for caries management. Dr Mei is an active member of the IADR and she has received a number of IADR awards, including the IADR-ANZ Oral Biology Award , an IADR Centennial Emerging Leaders Award, and the IADR Basil G. Bibby Young Investigator Award. Dr Mei has served on the Cariology Research Group of IADR as an officer (2016-2017), and is currently the President-elect of the Cariology Research Group IADR.

Professor Karl Lyons


BDS, MDS, CertMaxillofacialPros, PhD, FRACDS, FADI, FICD, FPFA

Karl Lyons is Deputy Dean (Clinical) in the Faculty of Dentistry at the University of Otago, in New Zealand and Chair in Restorative Dentistry at Otago where he has held a position since 1995. He is also the co-ordinator of the doctoral programme in prosthodontics, teaches and supervises at both the undergraduate and postgraduate level, and is actively involved in prosthodontic research with numerous publications in various areas of prosthodontics. Karl has served IADR ANZ in various roles since 1998.

Get the Latest from IADR ANZ 2023

Join our mailing list to be kept up to date with information on the International Association for Dental Research ANZ Division Conference 2023